Yeh Duniya Agar Mil Bhi Jaaye to Kya Hain?

Take a deep breath in and repeat the sentence again.

Yeh Duniya Agar Mil Bhi Jaaye Toh Kya Hain?
(What is this world to me, even if I can have it).

Contrary to the reader’s belief, I am not feeling like Devdas. Three things happened that made me think of this line:

  1. 12Hrs back, I saw a movie called A Walk in the Clouds. I have no idea what made me watch that movie, don’t remember anyone recommending it either and felt sick after having brutally murdered 120 minutes of my life and this post is partially an attempt to save you from doing so. Do NOT Watch it. One feels lame and silly after committing such blunders.
  2. 1 hr after that making that mistake, I was aimlessly reading the magazine section of an outdated copy of Deccan Chronicle. It’s a newspaper format of India TV owned by a local politico. I am not its brand ambassador but must say that it is the largest selling english daily in Andhra Pradesh (T or No T). So, without checking the date, I came across an interesting heading – Quarter Life Crisis. Article by itself was some time-pass stuff but the heading captured my imagination and “how true it is!” I felt – Am just a few years from facing a crisis! And my brain took off from there and started wondering …
  3. About an hour later, I started watching a movie called Gulaal, a political drama about college politics – a brilliant film, and am so glad to have seen it. Great movie and greater music – more importantly the lyrics. The modernization of “Sarfaroshi Ki Tamanna” is too good. One of those flicks where we simply can’t fast forward the movie when a song is being pictured. Chuck that now. Go watch it, you will love it.

Coming back to the Duniya! So, ladies & gentlemen, it so happened that this line is a part of the last song of the movie and has stuck in my head for the last 2-3 hrs and after doing some R & D on it, came to know that it’s a popular old song from Pyaasa. Congrats if you already knew it. So, upholding my tradition of posting lyrics & hopefully their translations too, I present – Duniya! (With all due respect, the following song is the original one, since that is the source of inspiration. The modified, inspired version in Gulaal is also awesome)

Ye Duniya Agar Mil Bhi Jaaye To Kya Hain?

Ye mehlo, ye takhto, ye taajo ki duniya,
This world of palaces, thrones, and crowns
Ye insaan ke dushman samaajo ki duniya,
This world of societies that resent humanity
Ye daulat ke bhookhe riwaajo ki duniya,
This world of those hungry for material wealth
Ye duniya agar mil bhi jaaye to kya hain?
What is this world to me, even if I can have it

Har ek jism ghayal, har ek rooh pyaasi,
Each body is afflicted, each soul thirsty
Nigaaho mein uljhan, dilo mein udaasi,
With confused eyes and hearts full of sorrow
Ye duniya hai ya aalam-e-badhawasi,
Is this the world or the realm of the senseless
Ye duniya agar mil bhi jaaye to kya hain?
What is this world to me, even if I can have it?

Yahaan ek khilauna hai insaa ki hasti,
In this world where a person’s being is only a toy
Ye basti hai murdaa-parasto ki basti,
It is an establishment that worships death
Yahaa to jeevan se hai maut sasti,
Where it costs less to die than to breathe
Ye duniya agar mil bhi jaaye to kya hain?
What is this world to me, even if I can have it?

Jawaani bhatakti hai badkaar ban kar,
Here youth wanders in apathy
Jawaa jism sajte hein baazaar ban kar,
Young bodies are decorated and sold in the market
Yahaa pyaar hota hai vyapaar ban kar,
Where love is treated as a product to trade
Ye duniya agar mil bhi jaaye to kya hain?
What is this world to me, even if I can have it?

Ye duniya jahaan aadmi kuch nahi hai,
This world where human life is nothing
Wafa kuch nahi, dosti kuch nahi hai,
Where Loyalty is nothing, where friendship is nothing
Yahaan pyaar ki qadr hi kuch nahi hai,
Where love has no meaning at all
Ye duniya agar mil bhi jaaye to kya hain?
What is this world to me, even if I can have it?

Jala do ise, phoonk daalo ye duniya,
Burn this world, set it on fire
Mere saamne se hata lo ye duniya,
Remove this world from my sight
Tumhaari hai tum hi sambhaalo ye duniya,
This world is yours, you take care of it.
Ye duniya agar mil bhi jaaye to kya hain?
What is this world to me, even if I can have it?




On a totally unrelated note, I found an article which was written by an ex-Rajya Sabha MP. It was his last day in office and had written a farewell speech or something of that sort. At the end, he had used a song from Kabhi Kabhi which I heard for the first time and want to include that too in this self ranting post😀. (side effects of free web space)

Mujhse pehele kitne shayar aaye aur aa kar chale gaye
Kuchh aahein bhar kar chale gaye,
kuchh naghme gaa kar chale gaye,

Woh bhi ek pal ka kissa thay,
Main bhi ek pal ka kissa hoon,

Kal tumse juda ho jaoonga,
Jo aaj tumhara hissa hoon…

Kal aur aayenge naghmon ki khilti kaliyan chun-ne wale
Mujhse behtar kahne wale,
Tumse behtar sun-ne wale…

Main pal do pal ka shayar hoon,
Pal do pal meri kahani hai.

How true again! – Reminded me of Dead Poet’s Society

And the great play will go on and you may contribute a verse. The great play will go on and YOU may contribute a verse. What will your verse be?

“The core of mans’ spirit comes from new experiences.” – Alexander Supertramp
– Adios folks

Share

15 thoughts on “Yeh Duniya Agar Mil Bhi Jaaye to Kya Hain?

  1. It looks you have quite a neat blog and this song is awesome …which says
    “achieving everything is not the only thing”

    may I know, do you read my blog? I happened to be in your blogroll🙂

  2. I love the reviews on this movie. It really deserves all the attention because the roles the actors played were simply stunning. One of the best movies I have seen in the year 2009. I never not seen any romance movies lately because most of the times they are dreadful, but the movie 500 days of summer opened my eyes that romance movies can still be entertaining. I didn’t particularly watch it in the movie theaters, I watched it online

  3. Pingback: Tu Hindu Banega, Na Musalmaan Banega – Music & Lyrics « It's a magical world Hobbes ol' buddy

  4. Good post and well expressed.
    I want to add one more thing, both of the songs that you have added-“Ye duniya agar mil bhi jaaye” and “main pal do pal ka shayar hu” have been written by the great Sahir Ludhiyanvi, a strongly secular person who has written songs like “Allah tero naam,ishwar tero naam” & “Tu Hindu banega na musalman banega”

  5. 1957……2011 anything change? The world is still the same! Hypocrites will still have the last say……By the way why no actor has been able to imitate Guru Dutt?

Leave a Reply

