So, it begins…

Sometimes in our lifetime, we come across something so beautiful, so amusing that we cannot stop but think about what we have just seen or heard. It can be a match of cricket where a batsman like Sehwag has demolished a bowling attack or a Formula 1 race where a driver comes all the way from the last place and goes on to win it or a speech delivered by a teacher or a letter from a friend. The source may be different but the effect is quintessentially the same – making a lasting impression on us – that there is more to life than just sitting at a workstation and typing away thousands of lines of code or making PowerPoint presentations, more than just sleeping away your entire weekend and cribbing that the Monday is already here. Did we always think that when we grow up, we will be stuck to a seat and that the television or a laptop will be our only source of entertainment?

We are prisoners of our own past. We crib that we miss childhood. Did we not face troubles when we were young? For a kid in his 1st standard, his annual exam in math is as difficult as the CAT paper to an MBA aspirant. We did have problems but more importantly, knew how to fix them. We did differentiate between the good and the bad. Then the choices were could be filtered with one question “Will Mom/Dad scold me if I do this?” Life was black and white. We did not care if the father of kid who sits next to us is a CEO or a cobbler as long as his handwriting was good so that we can copy form his book, we did not care if the guy wears a Louis Philippe shirt or got it stitched from a local tailor as long as he’s the best batsmen in the class or the teacher likes him.

We miss childhood because we had a clear picture; we knew our priorities very well and did what we wanted. We were free thinkers. We never tried to control any one or judge any one… we do that after we “grow up”. This whole bull shit about growing up, maturity and awareness is a myth. It’s an illusion created by a bunch of ppl who are dying of inferiority complex. I hate it when people look down upon the noble profession of teaching. It hurts me when they say law is a noble profession. If that was the case, why the hell are so many cases still pending and the bloody terrorist who attacked innocent ppl in Mumbai for 26/11 still alive and called ACCUSED of all things! It hurts when ppl say working in a big company is their dream. If that is the case, they haven’t woken up. Your dream is something that will make u happy by itself, not something that can help you get to a place where you can BUY happiness.

I. I once came across someone who asked me what I would do if I had a million dollars & told me that’s what I actually want in life. Seriously. Think about it for a moment. What do you want? Not the white collared zombie job. I want a page on Wikipedia dedicated to me. When the next time I open google.com, and start typing “K”, I want my full name to appear as the first result and in fact all first 10 results. I want to make a short film. I want to be on TV. I want a bunch of school students to call me O Captain! My Captain! I want lots more and my job does NOT prevent me from doing it! As u can understand, I do not say quit your job. No, it’s a necessary evil, the slogging and working. We need food to eat and I understand that and also, with a little pain like that, even sugar will taste sweeter than it actually is.

I don’t like Chetan Bhagat and also did my part in trending #chetanblocks on twitter but can’t deny the fact that the fellow gave an amazing speech SIBM last year. An excerpt of it:

There is no point of getting a promotion on the day of your breakup. There is no fun in driving a car if your back hurts. Shopping is not enjoyable if your mind is full of tensions.

“Life is one of those races in nursery school where you have to run with a marble in a spoon kept in your mouth. If the marble falls, there is no point coming first”

Don’t take life seriously. Life is not meant to be taken seriously, as we are really temporary here. We are like a pre-paid card with limited validity. If we are lucky, we may last another 50 years. And 50 years is just 2,500 weekends. Do we really need to get so worked up? It’s ok, bunk a few classes, scoring low in couple of papers, goof up a few interviews, take leave from work, fall in love, little fights with your spouse. We are people, not programmed devices………”

Each day I count the hours until the day’s over. Then I count the days until the weekend. Then I count the weeks until the month is over, and the months until the next holiday. To do what? Wait for what to happen? End of the World? Death to come? What excites me is that life is temporary. I am too impatient to wait for death to come. That said, I would not go and kill myself. Never. If only, I knew the date, I would make a list of things to do and places to see and plan accordingly. And guess what, I already started my list and am done with 2 of those! Ah life. My life! … Where are you in yours?

Still not convinced?  I recommend you to watch these movies – My list of “Watch before you Die” (in no particular order)

Fight Club – A brash slap in the face of consumerism and the working dead. It questions reality. It is strikingly thought-provoking and visually stimulating. The direction is incredibly brilliant.

Into the Wild Humans want to work till 60 and then retire. And then there was this guy who almost got into Harvard Law, who realized the fact that life is temporary, much ahead of his time. He retired at 20 and started living and doing whatever he wanted to. Mixed with great music, this movie will either move or bore the viewer.

Good Will Hunting – A story of a 20 something stuck up in a wrong job and accepting that that’s his life until somebody else comes and tells him what he’s worth. A simple story told very well.

Dead Poets Society An English teacher encourages a bunch of students to do more in life, that there is more to life than just engineering and medicine, more than tradition and honor, more than marks and grades. There is art in some form or the other, but basically, there is art.

Dil Dosti Etc – A very unconventional movie which takes on the ego of man and what he does to satisfy it. Watch this only if you think you are broad-minded. (and Yes. I do have an inflated Ego.)

Dasvidaniya An ordinary guy comes to know that he’s about to die very soon and wants to have all the fun in life before he dies. So, he makes a list of things he wants to do. This will drive the viewer to moist eyes. (Dasvidaniya means goodbye in Russian)

American Beauty – A guy in his mid-life crisis realizes that he hates his life & must get a grip over it and starts doing all that would have done had he been younger. Epic.

If you are someone I know and/or living in Hyderabad, drop by. I have them all and totally believe in piracy and would love to share these. If not, drop a comment, will help you get these. None of these have any lovey-dovey emotions, not that they are bad, but these are about self discovery. These movies rock!

Hum Kis Gali Jaa Rahe Hain …Hum Kis Gali Jaa Rahe Hain… Apna Koi Thikaana Nahi!

P.S.The original title of this post was Catharsis. Later changed to Watch before you Die. And finally … So, it begins (my first Ranting Post).

Posted via web from Learning to FLY

9 thoughts on “So, it begins…

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention So, it begins… « It's a magical world Hobbes, ol' buddy -- Topsy.com

  2. you moved me!! I had to publish it!!😀

    and yeah, just one thing… “…Its a rare gift, you know, to feel reverence for your own life and to want the best, the greatest, the highest possible, here, now. To imagine a heaven and then not to dream of it, but to demand it.”

    That’s where it begins for me…😀

    See you when I see you…😀

    • Too much-est … lovely film!

      “I went to the woods because I wanted to live deliberately.
      I wanted to live deep and suck out all the marrow of life.
      To put to rout all that was not life; and not,
      when I had come to die, discover that I had not lived.”

  3. Long time lurker, thought I would say hello! I really dont post much but thanks for the good times I have here. Love this place..

Leave a Reply

