CASHBACK (2006)

True Beauty lies within A Frozen Second

Once upon a time, I wanted to know what love was.
Love is there if you want it to be. You just have to see that it’s wrapped in beauty and hidden away between the seconds of your life.


God created men, and of course, women too. And he gave them something extra – beauty; that the woman herself would never know that she possesses it. In the movie where Sharon, the checkout girl, first shows up, I actually thought she’s not beautiful, even a bit ugly, and looking extremely tired. But as the movie moved on, when there were shots of Sharon, frozen, with the narration of Ben, I started to see beauty within this girl. True beauty. And at the end of the movie, I thought, WOW, she’s gorgeous. Amazing, huh.

There are people in this world who don’t understand or cannot see the beauty of God’s art works. If they simply pause for one second, just ONE SECOND, and try to observe, it is not difficult at all, for God’s works are incredulously gorgeous, above all, art that has ever been created by any human. I know, maybe not EXACTLY, but I have an idea about how to observe the beauty, in other people. Coz most of the time I can’t see it in myself, which is something that I need to learn, even though I feel confident and good all the time, but not beauty. People live and people die. But how many of them have seen and understand beauty, in anything? A lot, in fact. But not enough. I’m certain that, if people who don’t see beauty learn to see it, they will have a happier life. Because they can see that positive side of matter, most other wordily, the cup is half full, instead of half empty.

Coming back to the story, it is set around a young art student who has split up with his girlfriend and struggles with the breakup. This leads him into a world of sleepless nights and more questions than answers. His body clock becomes dysfunctional as he starts a job in a supermarket. Time pauses and he sees things with such clarity, a second can become an hour or clarity is lost and an hour can become a second. As a result he finds beauty and a muse in a girl he meets at his new job. Some scenes are filmed with such artistic talent, its hard to believe the same director filmed the other parts. This was originally a short film lasting 20 mins and 2 years later the final
full length cut was finished. Although the final cut has some very beautiful extra moments, it seems to suffer in the editing department. Certain scenes overrun and drag and suffer to fit in with other parts of the film. As a result some sections drag and the magic is somehow lost. Overall the film is great and the story is interesting. A 15 – 20 mins cut out of this film will make it a truly finished article. As in a case of less is more.

P.S. My first movie review is the movie which gave me the name of my blog. So it just shows how much this movie moved me.

3 thoughts on “CASHBACK (2006)

  1. I’m sorry but I don’t know if its my inability to comprehend what you’ve written, I just don’t seem to be finding the movie you’re talking about!! I’d love to appreciate true beauty too!! I only fell for Gwyneth Paltrow (actually the character Juliet) in the movie Shakespeare In Love… So, quick, give me more details…

    See you when I see you…🙂

Leave a Reply

